The Year I Flew Away

The Year I Flew Away

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $9.99

Available: 1

Quantity:

copies bought in the last week

About
It’s 1985 and ten-year-old Gabrielle is excited to be moving from Haiti to America. Unfortunately, her parents won’t be able to join her yet and she’ll be living in a place called Brooklyn, New York, with relatives she has never met.

She promises her parents that she will behave, but life proves to be difficult in the United States, from learning the language to always feeling like she doesn’t fit in to being bullied. So when a witch offers her a chance to speak English perfectly and be “American,” she makes the deal.

But soon she realizes how much she has given up by trying to fit in and, along with her two new friends (one of them a talking rat), takes on the witch in an epic battle to try to reverse the spell.

Gabrielle is a funny and engaging heroine you won’t soon forget in this sweet and lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk.
Info

ISBN: 9780358733331

Published Date: September 20, 2022

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Language: English

Page Count: 245

Size: 7.60" l x 5.16" w x 0.69" h

Age Classification: Ages 9 to 12

Category

Kids