My Block Looks Like

My Block Looks Like

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $18.99

Available: 9

Quantity:

copies bought in the last week

About
A love letter to the hustle, the bustle, the joy, and the grit of city life by debut author and Bronx native, Janelle Harper, and two-time Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner, Frank Morrison.

"My block looks like
a collision of cultures
a melting pot of cool
a burst of life
my favorite groove

. . .No matter what happens
I’ve seen it for myself
my block looks like
the coolest place
I’ve ever been."

A lyrical and proud picture book that recognizes the beauty of the bodegas, subways, and playgrounds that characterize everyday life in the Bronx and pays homage to the ways that its residents have shaped pop culture through music, visual art, and dance. Perfect for fans of I Am Every Good Thing and Last Stop on Market Street, My Block Looks Like offers kids a reaffirming message to celebrate and uplift their communities in an energetic text that begs to be read aloud.
Info

ISBN: 9780593526309

Published Date: January 2, 2024

Publisher: Viking Books

Language: English

Page Count: 40

Size: 11.13" l x 8.41" w x 0.47" h

Age Classification: Ages 3 to 5

Category

Kids