A Seed in the Sun

A Seed in the Sun

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $17.99

Available: 25+

Quantity:

copies bought in the last week

About
A farm-working girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for workers’ rights in this tender-hearted novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Lula Viramontes aches to one day become someone whom no one can ignore: a daring ringleader in a Mexican traveling circus. But between working the grape harvest in Delano, California, with her older siblings under dangerous conditions; taking care of her younger siblings and Mamá, who has mysteriously fallen ill; and doing everything she can to avoid Papá’s volatile temper, it’s hard to hold on to those dreams.

Then she meets Dolores Huerta, Larry Itliong, and other labor rights activists and realizes she may need to raise her voice sooner rather than later: Farmworkers are striking for better treatment and wages, and whether Lula’s family joins them or not will determine their future.
Info

ISBN: 9780593406601

Published Date: October 25, 2022

Publisher: Dial Books

Language: English

Page Count: 272

Size: 8.60" l x 5.72" w x 1.10" h

Age Classification: Ages 9 to 12

Category

Kids