The Four Pivots

The Four Pivots

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $17.95 | Save 53%

Available: 0

copies bought in the last week

About
For readers of Emergent Strategy and Dare to Lead, an activist's roadmap to long-term social justice impact through four simple shifts.

We need a fundamental shift in our values--a pivot in how we think, act, work, and connect. Despite what we’ve been told, the most critical mainspring of social change isn’t coalition building or problem analysis. It’s healing: deep, whole, and systemic, inside and out.

Here, Shawn Ginwright, PhD, breaks down the common myths of social movements--a set of deeply ingrained beliefs that actually hold us back from healing and achieving sustainable systemic change. He shows us why these frames don’t work, proposing instead four revolutionary pivots for better activism and collective leadership:

• Awareness: from lens to mirror
• Connection: from transactional to transformative relationships
• Vision: from problem-fixing to possibility-creating
• Presence: from hustle to flow

Supplemented with reflections, prompts, cutting-edge research, and the author’s own insights and lived experience as an African American social scientist, professor, and movement builder, The Four Pivots helps us uncover our obstruction points. It shows us how to discover new lenses and boldly assert our need for connection, transformation, trust, wholeness, and healing. It gives us permission to create a better future--to acknowledge that a broken system has been predefining our dreams and limiting what we allow ourselves to imagine, but that it doesn’t have to be that way at all. Are you ready to pivot?
Info

ISBN: 9781623175429

Published Date: January 25, 2022

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

Language: English

Page Count: 272

Size: 8.98" l x 6.01" w x 0.86" h