The Art of Listening

The Art of Listening

Product Type: Bargain Books


List price: $18.95 | Save 57%

Available: 12

The Dighanikaya or Long Discourses of the Buddha is one of the four major collections of teachings from the early period of Buddhism. Its 34 suttas (in Sanskrit, sutras) demonstrate remarkable breadth in both content and style, forming a comprehensive collection. The Art of Listening gives an introduction to the Dighanikaya and demonstrates the historical, cultural, and spiritual insights that emerge when we view the Buddhist suttas as oral literature.

Each sutta of the Dighanikaya is a paced, rhythmic composition that evolved and passed inter-generationally through chanting. For hundreds of years, these timeless teachings were never written down. Examining 12 suttas of the Dighanikaya, scholar Sarah Shaw combines a literary approach and a personal one, based on her experiences carefully studying, hearing, and chanting the texts. At once sophisticated and companionable, The Art of Listening will introduce you to the diversity and beauty of the early Buddhist suttas.

ISBN: 9781611808858

Published Date: June 15, 2021

Publisher: Shambhala

Language: English

Page Count: 291

Size: 8.90" l x 6.06" w x 0.93" h