Country Hardball

Country Hardball

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price: $5.29$4.23

List price: $16.99 | Save 75%

Available: 0

About
After more than a decade spent in and out of juvenile detention, halfway houses, and jail, Roy Alison returns to his rural hometown determined to do better, to be better. But what he finds is a working-class community devastated by the economic downturn--a town without anything to hold onto but the past.

Staying with his grandmother, Roy discovers a family history of good intentions and bad choices, of making do without much chance of doing better. Around him, families lose their sons to war, hunting accidents, drugs. And Roy, along with the town, falls into old patterns established generations ago.

A novel-in-stories in the tradition of Bonnie Jo Campbell, Donald Ray Pollock, Denis Johnson, and Alan Heathcock, Country Hardball is a powerfully observed and devastatingly understated portrait of the American working class.
Info

ISBN: 9781440570810

Published Date: November 18, 2013

Publisher: F+W Media, Inc.

Language: English

Page Count: 207

Size: 8.44" l x 5.49" w x 0.62" h

Category

Fiction

Subject

Crime