The Lost Child

The Lost Child

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $16.00 | Save 67%

Available: 0

About

Winner of the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award

A gripping and inventive reimagining of Wuthering Heights, by award-winning author Caryl Phillips

In the tradition of Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea and J. M. Coetzee’s Foe, Caryl Phillips revisits Emily Brontë’s masterpiece Wuthering Heights as a lyrical tale of orphans and outcasts, absence and hope. A sweeping novel spanning generations, The Lost Child tells the story of young Heathcliff’s life before Mr. Earnshaw brought him home to his family; the Brontë sisters and their wayward brother, Branwell; Monica, whose father forces her to choose between her family and the foreigner she loves; and a boy’s disappearance into the wildness of the moors and the brother he leaves behind.

Phillips deftly spins these disparate lives - bound by the past and struggling to liberate themselves from it - into a stunning literary work. Phillips has been called “in a league with Toni Morrison and V. S. Naipaul” (Donna Seaman, Booklist), and his work is charged with the complexities of migration, alienation, and displacement. Haunting and heartbreaking, The Lost Child transforms a classic into a profound story that is singularly its own.

Info

ISBN: 9781250094650

Published Date: June 21, 2016

Publisher: Picador

Language: English

Page Count: 272

Size: 8.03" l x 5.05" w x 0.70" h

Category

Fiction

Subject

Literary