The Immeasurable World: Journeys in Desert Places

The Immeasurable World: Journeys in Desert Places

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price: $4.99$2.49Clearance

List price: $32.95 | Save 92%

Available: 25+

Quantity:
About
In the classic literary tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Geoff Dyer, and for readers of Ryszard Kapuscinski and Rory Stewart, a rich and exquisitely written account of travels in eight deserts on five continents that evokes the timeless allure of these remote and forbidding places and their inhabitants.

One-third of the earth's land surface is classified as desert. Restless, unhappy in love, and intrigued by the Desert Fathers who forged Christian monasticism in the Egyptian desert, William Atkins decided to travel in six of the world's driest, hottest places: the Empty Quarter of Oman, the Gobi and Taklamakan Desert of northwest China, the Great Victoria Desert of Australia, the man-made desert of the Aral Sea in Kazkahstan, and the Black Rock and Sonoran Deserts of the American Southwest, and Egypt's Eastern Desert. Each of his travel narratives effortlessly weaves aspects of natural history, historical background, and present-day reportage into a compelling tapestry that reveals the human appeal of these often inhuman landscapes.
Info

ISBN: 9780771007699

Published Date: July 24, 2018

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart

Language: English

Page Count: 352

Size: 9.59" l x 6.46" w x 1.26"