Spaceman: The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut

Spaceman: The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price: $9.89$7.91

List price: $20.99 | Save 62%

Available: 14

Quantity:
About
An astronaut who completed spacewalks on two Hubble missions tells his inspiring story in this middle grade adaptation of his bestselling adult memoir, Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe. Fans of The Right Stuff and Apollo 13 will be thrilled by this astronaut's real life adventure.

From the time he was seven-years-old and saw Apollo 11 land on the moon, Mike Massimino dreamed of becoming an astronaut. Long Island is a long way from space. Kids like him, growing up in working-class families, seldom left the neighborhood. But with the encouragement of teachers and mentors, Mike ventured down on a path that took him to Columbia University and to MIT. It wasn't easy. There were academic setbacks and disappointments aplenty--and NASA turned him down three times. Still, Mike never gave up. He rose to each challenge and forged ahead, inching closer to realizing his boyhood dream. His love of science and space, along with his indomitable spirit and sense of teamwork eventually got him assigned to two missions to fix the Hubble Space Telescope--as a spacewalker.

Spaceman takes readers on Mike's unlikely ride from Earth to space, showing the breathtaking wonder of science and technology along the way.
Info

ISBN: 9780593120873

Published Date: April 7, 2020

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Language: English

Page Count: 266

Size: 8.50" l x 6.00" w x 1.00" h