What's The Big Deal About First Ladies

What's The Big Deal About First Ladies

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price: $6.59

List price: $13.99 | Save 53%

Available: 25+

Quantity:
About
In this chapter book filled with fun facts and historical trivia about first ladies from Martha Washington to Melania Trump, civic-minded young readers learn just how important it is to "Remember the ladies!" and all they have done for America.
Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn't let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It's true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House--and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! 

Perfect for fans of Rad American Women from A-Z, this book is a great entry point to discussing all aspects of the White House with children.
Info

ISBN: 9780593114865

Published Date: February 11, 2020

Publisher: Philomel Books

Language: English

Page Count: 56

Size: 8.00" l x 6.00" w x 0.50" h