What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price: $8.49$6.79

List price: $20.00 | Save 66%

Available: 25+

Quantity:
About
In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor

Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, “Is this art?” A former director at London’s Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art’s exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art - and why a five-year-old couldn’t really do it.
 
Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at.


.
Info

ISBN: 9780142180297

Published Date: January 1, 2012

Publisher: Plume Books

Language: English

Page Count: 435

Size: 8.45" l x 5.45" w x 1.10"

Category

Art

Subject

History