Returning Home to Our Bodies: Reimagining the Relationship Between Our Bodies and the World

Returning Home to Our Bodies: Reimagining the Relationship Between Our Bodies and the World

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $19.95

Available: 0

copies bought in the last week

About
For readers of Adrienne Maree brown, Staci K. Haines, and Robin Wall Kimmerer

A body-based healing model that interrogates what we’ve been wrongly taught about hierarchies of nature and the body—and pushes back against the white supremacy, colonialism, patriarchy, and capitalism embedded in modern embodiment practices.


Pushing back against a consumerist, pleasure-centric somatics industry that privileges product over process, Abigail Rose Clarke reminds us that truly meaningful embodiment practice nurtures our relationships among self, nature, and community.

Combining the rigor of the scientific method with the poetry and lyricism of movement and somatic studies, Clarke’s somatic learning system—The Embodied Life Method—centers the body as a guide through today’s most seemingly intractable social and environmental challenges, reclaiming the body as a source of liberatory comfort in times of great uncertainty and yet, possibility. 

With tools and practices to help us better understand and dismantle the many ways our bodies are weaponized to serve domination systems, topics covered include:

  • Harnessing the vitality of curiosity and experimentation
  • Using nature as a guide to possibility
  • Embracing the necessity of difference
  • Exposing the lie of universal isolation
  • Dismantling the fallacy of hierarchy
  • Uncovering the truth of endless capacity
  • Awe as a driving force for transformation

With methods honed over decades of inquiry, teaching, and practice, Returning Home to Our Bodies provides a lucid, body-based model of healing and restoration—one that imagines a world beyond systems of domination, marginalization, and isolation to nurture embodied, whole-community liberation.
Info

ISBN: 9781623179380

Published Date: January 9, 2024

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

Language: English

Page Count: 239

Size: 9.00" l x 6.01" w x 0.75" h