Just Dope: A Leading Attorney's Personal Journey Inside the War on Drugs

Just Dope: A Leading Attorney's Personal Journey Inside the War on Drugs

Product Type: Bargain Books

Price:

List price: $16.95

Available: 3

Quantity:

copies bought in the last week

About
For readers of Dopesick and In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts, a celebrated cannabis attorney's personal look at the War on Drugs and what comes next for the drug legalization movement

Getting high is something most of us do, and in many cases do safely--yet drugs remain a singular public enemy. In a ranging blend of memoir, pop culture, policy critique, and social analysis, LA-based criminal defense attorney Allison Margolin explores why--and what we can do about it.

Informed by Margolin’s experiences as a drug user, advocate, and the daughter of California’s most renowned (and infamous) cannabis attorney, Just Dope offers a look at where our current drug policy fails. It exposes the true history of drug prohibition in the United States, sharing why it started, how it evolved, and where it stands now. And it looks unflinchingly at the false dichotomy between “good” drugs and “bad” drugs and Margolin’s experience with programs like D.A.R.E that misguidedly ask you to “Just Say No.”

For readers of All Day is a Long Time and In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts, Just Dope is an experiential tour-de-force of personal essay and whip-smart policy critique—and a vital call to knowledge and action.
Info

ISBN: 9781623176860

Published Date: August 30, 2022

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

Language: English

Page Count: 246

Size: 9.08" l x 5.99" w x 0.83" h