Read-iculously Low Prices

Drifting House

Author:
Binding: Hardcover
List Price: $25.95
Our Price: $2.69 USD
Sale Price: $1.19 USD
FREE Shipping on orders over $35
Qty Avail: 95

Bargain Book Copy


An unflinching portrayal of the Korean immigrant experience from an extraordinary new talent in fiction.

Spanning Korea and the United States, from the postwar era to contemporary times, Krys Lee's stunning fiction debut, Drifting House, illuminates a people torn between the traumas of their collective past and the indignities and sorrows of their present.

In the title story, children escaping famine in North Korea are forced to make unthinkable sacrifices to survive. The tales set in America reveal the immigrants' unmoored existence, playing out in cramped apartments and Koreatown strip malls. A makeshift family is fractured when a shaman from the old country moves in next door. An abandoned wife enters into a fake marriage in order to find her kidnapped daughter.

In the tradition of Chang-rae Lee's Native Speaker and Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies, Drifting House is an unforgettable work by a gifted new writer.


NOTE: This title is a Bargain Book Copy, purchased direct from various publishers as excess inventory or a store return. The book is in new condition and will, in most cases, have a small dot or line on the edge of the book. It may also have a price sticker on it from the original store it was returned from. For more information please refer to the information page Our Product.

You May Also Like

More info...

ISBN: 9780670023257
Publisher: Penguin Books
Language: English
Page Count: 210
Size: 8.52" l x 5.77" w x 0.91"
Series: N/A

Category Subject
Fiction Short Stories