Read-iculously Low Prices

Land of the High Flags: Afghanistan When the Going was Good


Binding: Softcover
List Price: $19.95
Our Price: $7.49 USD
FREE Shipping on orders over $35
Qty Avail: 3

Bargain Book Copy

A memoir of lost Afghanistan. When the going was good, a young American woman traveled to the then-remote country of Afghanistan. A classic memoir in the tradition of Rebecca West, Rosanne Klass'sLand of the High Flagsis an insightful account of the land and its proud people. She was the first woman to teach boys from the country's villages, at a time when Afghan women were still kept hidden behind veils. Ms. Klass writes of Afghan traditions, of stark, splendid landscapes, and of the enduring friendships she made at a time when Afghanistan was reaching out to a hopeful future. Hailed by critics when it first appeared, this reissue of a classic includes additional new sections telling of her return to Afghanistan as a journalist—and of what became of the friends she brought to life for her readers. This is a vivid portrait of Afghanistan as it was before Afghan life was blasted into ruins like the great Buddhas of Bamian by the wars and the Taliban. 16 black & white photos, 1 map.

NOTE: This title is a Bargain Book Copy, purchased direct from various publishers as excess inventory or a store return. The book is in new condition and will, in most cases, have a small dot or line on the edge of the book. It may also have a price sticker on it from the original store it was returned from. For more information please refer to the information page Our Product.

You May Also Like

More info...

ISBN: 9789622177864
Publisher: Odyssey Publications
Language: English
Page Count: 344
Size: 8.50" l x 6.00" w x 1.00"
Series: N/A