Read-iculously Low Prices

Scarlet Women

Binding: Hardcover
List Price: $26.99
Our Price: $5.39 USD
FREE Shipping on orders over $35
Qty Avail: 6

Scratch & Dent Copy
Also available as Bargain Book for $7.49 USD

In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:

Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi.
Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist.
Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education.

Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society.

From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book - perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals - uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms.

NOTE: This is a Scratch & Dent book and may have noticeable dents, scratches and various other cosmetic issues as well as torn or missing dust jacket. These items are only guaranteed to be structurally complete and readable and therefore are sold as is.

You May Also Like

More info...

ISBN: 9781250062635
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Language: English
Page Count: 294
Size: 9.56" l x 6.45" w x 1.08"
Series: N/A